Skip To Main Content

Activities

MMS Activities

SHOW WAS CANCELED THIS YEAR.

Mean Girls Musical

 

Raymond Crowell, Sponsor

rcrowell@fcps1.org

 

Sarah Nutt, Sponsor

sarah.nutt@fcps1.org

 

Library Ambassadors

 

Susan Kleinsmith, Sponsor

susan.kleinsmith@fcps1.org

This opportunity is for 8th grade students who apply to help in the Library and learn more about how the library works.

6th Grade Plant the Moon Challenge

 

Annalea Hall, Sponsor

annalea.hall@fcps1.org

 

Cathy Persiani, Sponsor

cpersiani@fcps1.org

 

6th Grade Students who already chose to participate in the NASA and Virginia Space Grant Consortium Plant the Moon Challenge.

The challenge is to "take the leap into lunar exploration."

It is a teacher-led science experiment to see "who can grow the best crops using lunar regolith simulant and provide crops for future missions to the Moon."

Needed research and planning will happen during December and January. The 8 week planting session will occur during February and March.

Broadcast

"Hello, Marshall"

Carrie Currence, Sponsor

ccurrence@fcps1.org

This activity is for 7th and 8th grade students who apply to produce our "Hello, Marshall" broadcast.  

"Hello, Marshall" is a student run newscast.  Students are anchors, writers, special reporters, editors.  They are valued and "work" in the mornings, 8:15-8:30 and afternoons, 3:15-3:45.

The broadcast includes news and events, VTSS lessons, weather reports, book talks, etc.